Research shows that taking a traffic course to dismiss a traffic ticket really does save lives, time, and money. Learn valuable skills to become a safer driver. No points will be assessed against your driver’s license and you will save on insurance costs. You will also avoid the fines and won't plead guilty or go to court.
The National Safety Council, Nebraska offers the following traffic ticket dismissal programs:
- STOP - Four Hour Defensive Driving Course
- STOP Online - Online Version of the Four Hour Defensive Driving Course
- STOP - A25 Four Hour Defensive Driving Course
- STOP 4 - Experienced Driver Four Hour Course
- STAR - Eight Hour Defensive Driving Course.
Depending on the jurisdiction, violation on the ticket, and your age, our online registration system will recommend the appropriate course.
1. Where was the ticket written?
If the ticket was written in Douglas, Washington, or Cass County, Nebraska or Pottawattamie County, Iowa or the City of Council Bluffs, Iowa, the National Safety Council, Nebraska can help. If the ticket was written elsewhere in Nebraska, you must register with the appropriate agency. If the ticket was written out of state, call/email for registration advice.
2. What violation(s)?
County attorneys/city prosecutors and state law determine which violations are eligible. Input violation(s) during the registration process and eligibility will be determined at that time.
3. Have you taken a class in the past?
In accordance with Nebraska law, drivers can only take a ticket dismissal class for minor traffic violations once every three years. For more serious violations, STAR/ADD classes can only be taken once every five years.
- Driver’s license
- Social Security number
- Valid credit card
If you are eligible for the 4-Hour STOP Course, during the online registration process, you will be given the option to register for an in-person class or an online class. If you have any additional questions regarding the online course, please see the page link on the right side of this page.
Please note: For Douglas County traffic violations, registration must be completed within 12 calendar days of the date the ticket was issued to avoid a late fee. Class must then be completed at least one week prior to scheduled court date.
Note: As required under Nebraska statute, some drivers are not eligible for the diversion program. Persons who hold a commercial driver license (CDL) are not eligible and persons who received a citation after involvement in an accident AND the officer marked the "PI" box on the ticket you are not eligible for the diversion program.
**Classes must be completed at least 7 days prior to your court appearance**Traffic Ticket Dismissal FAQ Eligible Violations by County Online Traffic Dismissal Course Information
STOP Class: $107, STAR Class: $199
4 Hours for STOP courses (In-Person or Online) or 8 Hours for STAR course
National Safety Council, Nebraska
3111 Oak View Drive, Omaha, NE 68144
or Other Locations
Please see the schedule for Days and Times